Sample Chapters

Download and read sample chapters from the Invisible Fiends series so far.

About the Author

Find out some stuff about author, Barry Hutchison, creator of the series.

Events Schedule

Check out the upcoming events schedule for author, Barry Hutchison.

Raggy Your Maggie

Want to make your own Raggy Maggie doll? Follow this step-by-step guide.

  • Error loading feed data.

Something FIENDISH this way comes...

Invisible Fiends is a six-part horror series that tells the story of a boy named Kyle Alexander. When Kyle was four, he had an imaginary friend - a happy, cheerful little guy, whose unfortunate speech impediment earned him the name, Mr Mumbles.

Like all kids, Kyle grew up. By the time he was six, he'd stopped seeing Mr Mumbles. By the time he was nine, he'd forgotten that Mr Mumbles had ever existed.

But Mr Mumbles never once forgot about him.

On a dark and stormy Christmas Day when Kyle is twelve, a very different Mr Mumbles returns. This time he doesn't want to be friends, and he has no intention of playing nice. All he wants is a violent and bloody revenge on the boy who forgot about him, and he will not stop until he gets it. Now all Kyle can do is run and hide and try to stay alive long enough to figure out what the Hell is going on, and maybe - just maybe - find a way to stop it.

Over the course of the series, Kyle will discover that Mr Mumbles is not the only forgotten imaginary friend to have returned. In each new book he must face horrors worse than those that have come before. And with each twisted fiend he faces, he will come closer to discovering the reason why they have started to return, and what his part in all of it is.

From a quiet Christmas dinner to the explosive end of the world, Invisible Fiends, is a terrifying, action-packed series certain to keep readers old and young alike on the edge of their seats.


Double Top: Invisible Fiends storms Amazon charts

Last week, both currently published Invisible Fiends book raced to the top of the Amazon children's horror chart, beating off competition from such big names as Darren Shan, Derek Landy and Stephanie Meyer.

Second-book-in-the-series, RAGGY MAGGIE, took the top spot, while MR MUMBLES sat in second place. Later in the day, however, the books switched places, with MR MUMBLES taking the lead.

As as result of racing so quickly up the charts, the books were first and second in Amazon's Movers & Shakers chart.


New books from Invisible Fiends author


London, 25th October 2010 –

HarperCollins Children’s Books has acquired two new books from Barry Hutchison, author of the Invisible Fiends series and major voice on the HarperCollins list. The deal for World rights, including film, TV, audio and merchandising was concluded by Harriet Wilson, Editorial Director HarperCollins Children’s Books and Kathryn Ross of Fraser Ross Associates.

The first book, entitled The 13th Horseman, is scheduled for publication in February 2012 and is intended for readers aged 11+.


More Articles...


Subscribe to the newsletter.